The Young Liberals Executive


What are YL's Committees?

Elected by you every year, our Committees help our Executive members achieve their goals and work across the party to make our voice heard.

As well as our Executive, YL has a number of committees which focus on a specific part of our work. Each Committee is chaired by the relevant Officer, with a number of seats elected by YL members each year.

Communications and Campaigns Committee

Communications and Campaigns Committee is responsible for promotion of YL's work to members and beyond, including through social media and email communications, as well as running regular campaigns, and produces our annual Freshers' Campaigns.

Committee Chair: Harvey Jones, the Federal Communications Officer

Elected members: Nathan Hunt, Ewan Redpath and Liv Walker.

State Representatives: Rowan Fitton (English YL), Leo Dempster (Scottish YL) and Ianto Evans (Welsh YL). A member of International Committee is also entitled to attend.

Other YL officers: Joshan Parmar and Fergus Kirman - co-Branch Development Officers, and Ulysse Abbate - Policy Officer

Read the minutes of committee meetings HERE.

Diversity Committee

Diversity Committee is responsible for supporting the Accessibility, Diversity & Standards Officer and is a voice for underrepresented groups in politics and the Young Liberals, including holding the Executive to account.

Committee Chair: Emily Baker, the Federal Accessibility, Diversity & Standards Officer.

Elected members: Timi Jibogu (Minority Ethnic Rep), Bex Foulsham (Disability Rep), Harvey Thomas-Benton (LGBA+ Rep), Kobe Bibbon (Trans Rep), Brendan Roberts (Care-Experienced Rep), Johan Prinsloo (Under 18s Rep), Keeley O'Keefe (Social Mobility Rep)

Read the minutes of the committee meetings HERE.

Elections Committee

Elections Committee is responsible for planning and implementing election strategies, organising Action Days and co-ordinating with LDHQ during election season.

Committee Chair: Janey Little, the Federal Young Liberals Chair

YL Officers on the Committee: Miguel Smith & Nicholas Orford-Williams, as Federal co-Elections Officers, William Tennison, as Federal Membership Development Officer, Harvey Jones, as Federal Communications Officer

State Representiatives: Leo Dempster (SYL) and Josh Rutty (WYL)

Read the minutes of the committee meeting HERE.

Events Committee

Events Committee is responsibile for supporting the Events Officer in the organisation of conference, and any other events that occur throughout the year.


Committee Chair: Lucas North, the Federal Events Officer.

Elected Members: Joe Norris and Guy Hotchin.

State Representatives: Huw James (English YL), Leo Dempster (SYL) & Josh Rutty (WYL)

YL Officers on the Committee: Ulysse Abbate - Policy Officer, Will Tennison - Membership Development Officer, Emily Baker - Accessibility, Diversity & Standards Officer.

Read the minutes of the committee meetings HERE.


Finances and Resources Committee

Finance and Resources Committee is responsible for preparing the annual budget of the organisation, our accounts and scrutinise the work of the Treasurer and Fundraising Officers.

Committee Chair: Lucas North, Registered Treasurer

State Representatives: Joe Norris, Chair of English Young Liberals; Josh Rutty and Leena Farhat, Co-Chairs of Welsh Young Liberals; Leo Dempster, Chair of Scottish Young Liberals

Other members: Janey Little, Federal Chair; Felix Andrew, Fundraising Officer; Callum Clark, Designated Safeguarding Officer

These meetings are all Closed Business, so there are no publically avaliable minutes.

International Committee

International Committee is responsible for assisting the International Officer, being on and co-opting delegations to international conferences such as LYMEC (European Liberal Youth) and IFLRY (International Liberal Youth).

Committee Chairs: Sean Bennett and Kai Pischke, the Federal Co-International Officers 

Elected Members: Kate Sutcliffe, Rowan Fitton & Arthur Wu

Read the minutes of the committee meetings HERE.

Policy Committee

Policy Committee drafts YL policy, sets up working groups, provides drafting advice to members on their motions ahead of Conferences, and selects motions for debate at Conference.

Committee Chair: Ulysse Abbate, the Federal Policy Officer.

Elected members: Cormac Evans, Rebecca Jones and Harvey Thomas-Benton

State Representatives: James Bliss (English YL), Leo Dempster (Scottish YL) and Josh Rutty (Welsh YL).

Policy committee also includes any Young Liberal who sits on the Federal Policy Committee or Federal Conference Committee.

Read the minutes of the committee meetings HERE.

This website uses cookies

Like most websites, this site uses cookies. Some are required to make it work, while others are used for statistical or marketing purposes. If you choose not to allow cookies some features may not be available, such as content from other websites. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.

Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.
Marketing cookies are used by third parties or publishers to display personalized advertisements. They do this by tracking visitors across websites.